Chandi Chapter 2 ….

The first time I saw Davis, I had gone in the wrong shop door on Main Street. Being new to town, my big city girl apparel didn’t mesh well with the small town local color. I was looking for new clothes and ended up in the high schools local hang out. The walls had several video games. There were two pool tables in the middle of the room. Nothing special really. But, I did notice every guy stopped to look at me.

I looked in each of their faces until something made me stop at him. There was Davis, leaning up against the table making a shot. In an instant, like he had known I would be there, he looked up at me. His blue eyes stopped me dead. His smile made my heart beat a hundred miles a minute and my mouth dropped like it had a rock in it.

I felt a charge run from the pit of my stomach to the nape of my neck. As soon as I felt it my first thought was ‘What the hell was that?’ I didn’t know why I was acting like this over him. The only thing he had going for him was he was tall. Really tall. He was a little too heavy for me. He wasn’t super model handsome, I thought trying to take my mind off the electricity coursing through me.

Just then he smiled at me again. I couldn’t move, I was stuck in place. Somehow I knew he was a year older than me, but that wasn’t important. I knew what he was doing. He was like me, I could feel it. But, he was a guy. That in itself should be impossible. Gently, he put down his pool stick and slowly walk towards me. I felt my body start to tremble the closer he got to me. I couldn’t breath

“I haven’t seen you before.” His words were like water. I knew for a fact if he got any closer I was going to drown. I began to focus all my will to say something. Everything in my body was telling me to run. Stay away from him he is dangerous. Dangerous? To me? Not going to happen. I closed my eyes as I fought with my insides, finally gaining my composure. I opened my eyes and looked up at his very charming smile.

“That tells me you like what you see.” I narrowed my eyes slightly, stepping back as I spoke. I could feel my eyes smoldering in my head. I knew if you could see our energies they would be like two balloons pushing against each other seeing which one would pop first. He smiled a very wide smile and step in towards me. I heard my balloon pop. I stood still and watched as he leaned over me barely touching his ear to my lips.

“You are trying too hard, pee wee.” I couldn’t breath. There was nothing left for me to do, but run. I couldn’t believe I was even having that thought. Thankfully, he turned to go back to his friends at the table. I stopped out side the local hang out panting and shaking. I felt as if I were going to throw up. Me!? The woman who had men falling all over themselves to get close to me, was over thrown by a man. What really caught me of guard was, he did it the same way I would have.

Davis was the first man alive that I had met who had a personality like mine. The first person, beside the women in my family, I had seen that could control people with their words. This intrigued me. I had always seen the effects of my magic on other people. I saw them turn into drooling idiots in front of me, then come back later like dogs begging for scraps. I knew what I was doing and it made me happy. This was the very first time I had ever felt it. I didn’t know I could feel it.

I found out something about myself that year. I am a huge coward. With all my confidence, all the abilities and all the things I can do, I am a coward. Davis scarred me to death. I didn’t go out of my way to hide from him. I saw him everywhere, the school was horribly small. I fought to stay home but of course my mother was immune to my wishes, something I hadn’t known before. When I finally settled in, I was curious enough about my surroundings to notice the people who lived here. I looked around and realized I was an oddity in this small little town.

For the first time in my life, men didn’t fawn all over me, they ignored or avoided me. They avoided me like I was a freak. What had he done to me? I looked up at him sitting on the lunch tables, all his friends smiling and gawking in my direction. Can someone do that? Can someone strip you of your abilities so completely? For weeks I tried and tried but there was nothing. I couldn’t even make simplest of requests manifest in my favor. It was depressing.

In one week my mood went from happy go luck and chipper to somber and depressed. How could he do that? I went to the auditorium above my last class during lunch to wait in my own misery. Someone was in the chorus room. I could hear the sweet song of a popular song coming from down stairs. It flooded the building, and I loved hearing it. I listened as the same song played over and over for about fifteen minutes before I finally heard footsteps coming up the stairs.

I cared little for who it was so I pretended to read. I didn’t have to look up, I knew who it was. I felt his energy long before he reached the top of the stairs. I had never felt anything like it. I heard the foot steps stop suddenly. I waited concentrating hard on the page. I tried so hard to pull up a memory, something to take me out of this time for just a second.

“You squint when you try too hard, did you know that?”

Aggravation flooded my entire body as I slammed the book down into my lap.

“Can I help you?” I knew how to resist my family’s abilities, but, he wasn’t like them. Resisting his took a lot more effort.

“My dad had said red heads are feisty. Are you always so mean?”

Mean? I wasn’t mean, I was annoyed, he should know the difference.

“What do you mean, feisty?”

“There are a lot of girls in this town, but you are different.”

I held my book back up.

“I am not from here.”

“Yeah, I know. Outsiders never fit in.” I heard him slowly walk to the door. “Coming from a big city like you did, I figured you would be stronger? Guess city folk are as lazy as I thought.”

I put my book down, but, it was too late, he was gone. What did he mean by lazy?

I spent several nights thinking over what he said and several days giving him dirty looks. My only satisfaction was that he seamed to get more frustrated as the days went by. I heard it from the girls in my reading circle that he was kind of upset. He hadn’t met a woman he couldn’t win over till he met me. Every woman in the school loved him. They followed him, hung on his every word, everyone but me.

Of course, his ability gave him an unfair advantage over the female population. They had no choice but to love him. The girls at our library table went on and on about it. Truth be told if I didn’t see him the rest of the day I would have been happy.

As if right on que, the library door opened and again I didn’t have to look up. I felt him long before he walked in. It was like the edges of my energy picked him out of the crowed. My annoyance grew as the girls, and I do call them girls, started pointing and giggling at him from across the room. The giggled louder as he curled his pointer finger up and down in a finger wave at them. It was hardly fair that he used his gift all the time like that. I looked at him for a moment. He winked at me a smiled. Like that was supposed to win me over. I watched him walk off walking as he knew I was watching his butt, I smiled just a little, because I was. Man, I hated him.

Leave a Reply

